Enda Stevens talks to Rovers Ramblings..

14/01/2012 18:13

 

Enda Stevens Interview
 
Rovers Ramblings recently caught up with former Shamrock Rovers left back Enda Stevens, we spoke about how his move to Villa came about, his time at Pats and his two seasons with Rovers..
Rovers Ramblings:
You've recently moved to top Premier League side Aston Villa, how did that move come about? 
 
Enda Stevens:
Came after Partizan Belgrade game got a call of my agent to say Villa were going to do a deal and that they had been to the home game and watched Copenhagen games as well I knew nothing about it though.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Interesting, Who were your inspirations when you were growing up?
 
Enda Stevens:
Inspirations would be my family most of all but if I was to say a footballer it be Roy Keane probably.
Rovers Ramblings:
That’s very good, now, Looking back on your career at Pats, Could you tell us a bit about your professional debut, away to Cork, back in '09?
 
Enda Stevens:
Yeah, we went into the game following a 3-0 defeat from Galway and Jeff Kenna told me on the way down to be ready and that I was starting it was a big game because Cork were very strong and I was delighted that we won. Sully (Patrick Sullivan) actually played right wing so I have him to thank for that he didn’t get a sniff!
 
Rovers Ramblings:
All good stuff, when signing for Shamrock Rovers back in '09, Did you fell you'd be playing in a Europa League Group Stage match vs. Tottenham a few years later? 
 
Enda Stevens:
No, not really playing against Juventus was a bit surreal that year I always thought an Irish team would make it but I never expected it to happen so soon!
Rovers Ramblings:
Agreed, What was it like capturing your first League title win with Shamrock Rovers FC?
 
Enda Stevens:
It was brilliant to win a league is the best feeling and you get hungry for more which was good for the team.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Favorite career moment, to date?
 
Enda Stevens:
Can’t choose really. Winning back to back leagues qualifying and signing for Villa would be mine.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Little bit on Aston Villa now, How have you settled in there? What players have been most welcoming? 
Enda Stevens:
I’ve settled in good all the lads welcomed me to be fair they were all great in doing that.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
All good, Who is the toughest player you have played against to date?
 
Enda Stevens:
I’m not too sure over the past few years I’ve played against some really top quality players Dos Santos and Townsend of Spurs as well as the Turkish fella of Rubin Kazan.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Totally, What was it like capturing the PFAI Young Player of the Year award this year?
 
Enda Stevens:
Capturing that was a real honor to be recognised by your fellow players is a real honor and I was chuffed to win it.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Very good! Will you still be trying to get to games and supporting us from England? 
 
Enda Stevens:
I’ll try to get up to Tallaght as much as I can when I’m home probably get up to a few games during my time off in the summer.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Few questions from the fans that wrote into us:
Question 1:
Glen Flood: Will Shamrock Rovers, and it's fans, have a big place in your heart?
 
Enda Stevens:
Yeah I’ve played there for 2 seasons and I enjoyed my time and the people they’re most enjoyable seasons so far.
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Question 2:
Mark Welsh: How did your Villa move come about, when did they first notice you? And why, after a Year, have you not accepted my friend request on Facebook?
Enda Stevens:
Explained how it came about already, and I’m not one for the Facebook I’m rarely on it same as twitter!
 
Rovers Ramblings:
Final Question:
Kieran Burke: Who, in your opinion, should get the Rovers job? (This was asked before Kenny got the job)
 
Enda Stevens:
I would have said Martin Russell or Stephen Kenny to that one!
That concludes the interview, we would like to both thank Enda for taking the time out to do this interview with Rovers Ramblings and would also like to wish him the very best of luck for his future career,
Thanks for Reading,
Conducted by Alex for Rovers Ramblings. 

Search site

The Premier Division will be displayed here.

 

 

Kick off for the brand new 2015 season is March 6th, 2015.

 

 

 

Rovers Ramblings is a unofficial website based on Shamrock Rovers Football Club. All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode