Interview with Hooperman!

14/02/2012 13:52

 

Rovers Ramblings has a quick chat with Shamrock Rovers mascot, Hooperman!
 
 
Q1. What made you become a Shamrock Rovers fan?
I was born a Rovers fan, I had no choice and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Since my first
game on Sunday March 21st 2010 and I’ve been Rovers biggest fans since then.
 
Q2. What do you most associate with Shamrock Rovers and our fans.
Pride. I have to say the bond between fans and the club is magical. As a members club, the
fans own the club and they set the agenda for what the club should do or not do. So I would
have to say that the thing I most associate with Rovers and the fans is the unity and collective
spirit to be successful.
 
Q3. Your match day routine?
Where do I start? I’m always-on as the marketing people say. You see I have been doing pre
season since Dec 16th last year. All the lads went off for their well earned holidays but I was
still at it, pumping iron, running, practicing keepy upys and of course doing Hooperman parties
all over the place. 365 days a year I am doing my bit for the Hoops, in fact it’ll be one more this
year with the leap year.
Pre match, I do a bit of Zumba (no laughing), it’s something me and Dessie Baker started off a
couple of year back and it’s good craic.
After that, I meet the players as they get in to the stadium and give them the Hooper High
Five (sorry, four). I’ll have a chat with the musical director (Mr Ashbourne) and we finalise the
routines for the day and then it’s all systems go, up to the traffic lights to welcome the fans
coming in from the N81, a quick look around the Maldron and back to the Megastore, it’s full on I
can tell you. I love it!
Q4. Your favourite player?
Well Boccer Bayly sticks in my mind for flattening me after he scored against Bnei Yehuda in
2010, Twiggy is always there for me, big Al was great, Dessie – what can I say, Billy D loves a
celebration too but I think I’ll give it to Ricer, he needs me for the cape you see.
I must say that I do be a bit anxious when Turner scores as when he hugs me, my Hoopersuit
gets covered in this fake tan stuff.
 
Q5. Are you pleased with the signings SK has brought in?
Oh yeah, definitely. Hawks, Garts, Kavo, Conor, Killian and the lad Bobby Gilbert. All good
signings if you ask me. I’ve still to bring a couple of them through the Hooperman induction
programme but I’ll get to that before March 9th.
 
Q6. Who do you think will perform the best, out of the new signings, for the forthcoming
season?
That’s hard to say, once they give their all for the club, they’ll be ok by me. And I can tell you I
will be giving them 150% support from the sideline.
P.S. If I do see any slacking off, I’ll be there to get them going – WE ARE ROVERS!
(credit - Sportsfile.com)
 
Q7. Personal opinion on Rovers Ramblings?
I think that you are doing a great job, always good to see Rovers news and views and you’re a
welcome addition to the every growing outlets to keep in touch with Ireland’s No.1
 
Q8. What are your main expectations for this season? Can you name a Top 3 for us?
Top 3, top 1 you mean. No pressure on the lads but we are winners, since I’ve been around
we’ve won the league each year and we’re not stopping now. As they say on the twitter machine
#herewegothreeinarow
 
Q9. Do you think, what we achieved in Europe this season, will ever be accomplished again?
It will and it will be us that does it!
 
Q10. Are you excited for the ‘Big Kick-off?
Hmmmmmm, YES! Can’t wait to see all the Hoopermaniacs again, it’s my life and I love it!
 
Rovers Ramblings would like to thank Hooperman for his time and for doing this interview,
Thanks for reading,
Rovers Ramblings.
 

Search site

The Premier Division will be displayed here.

 

 

Kick off for the brand new 2015 season is March 6th, 2015.

 

 

 

Rovers Ramblings is a unofficial website based on Shamrock Rovers Football Club. All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode