Patrick Sullivan looks back with Rovers Ramblings

09/01/2012 21:46

Former Shamrock Rovers defender Pat Sullivan takes time out to talk to Rovers Ramblings and speaks about how he felt when MO'N left Rovers, when he told the players, his goal in Belgrade, who he picked as the worst fans in Ireland and his future is revealed here. Read on..

 

 (Sully celebrating the goal in Belegrade. Credit to Google Images)

1. Howya Sully? First off thanks for taking time out to do an interview with Rovers Ramblings, now, about Michael's departure, when he told the lads at training that he was leaving, how much of a blow was that?
No problem at all, I've nothing but time on my hands.
Eh personally it was a very big blow. I know it was at the end of the long season and it didn't have an adverse impact on winning the league or europe or anything but it would be a huge blow to any club or group of players to lose a manager with the ability the gaffer has. Id hope its something that the club can overcome and not something they will regret. I think we were all close with the gaffer so for the boys who stay it'll be strange to have someone else in charge.
 
2. What would be your plans after football? Are you going to go the Ricer way and into coaching and management?
Coaching or management.....no. I'm a patient enough person in general but dont think id last as a manager. I'd probably have 3 substitutions made before half time every game!! I'd be interested enough in finance and stuff along those lines so that would most likely be the way I'd go. Not now but eventually.
 (Sully challenging in a recent Europa League Group Stage game, Credit google images)
3. Now, 'that goal' in Belgrade turned out to be the most famous of Shamrock Rovers's history, do you ever see yourself scoring another one similar to that? Also, what was in your mind before you struck in, all day long thinking "I'm going to hit this"?
Thanks, but as long as I live I'll never score a goal to even come close to it. Taking the game it was, the occasion, what it meant and the outcome of the match out of the question it was a great goal in itself, but add all that into the mix and it's something very special to me and I know to all the fans and people who follow the club.
 
4. On the fans scene now, who would be your least favorite away fans? What would you most associate with Shamrock Rovers fans?
Theres a few I suppose but I've never really been impressed with the Bohs fans, as a player and an outsider seeing the way they treat their own players can be horrendous! Probably the worst for that in the league. 
Rovers fans are immense, seriously, the support personally they've given me in my time here has been massive and I can't thank them enough for that. But it's plain for all to see in this country that they're the best, the fact they saved their club speaks volumes, and that other clubs are going down the same route to save theirs is a huge compliment
(Sully getting meeted by the fans at Dublin Airport, Credit google images)
5. What do you think of the FAI's decision to block a licence from GUST?
Well without knowing the ins and outs I can't say I'm surprised, Galway have been on they're knees for some time now and they're must be a lot we don't know about. Hopefully it all gets sorted for them because they're good people down there.
 
6. Now, onto your career. Do you see yourself staying with Shamrock Rovers? What's making you move away after such a brilliant season?
No, I won't be staying. It's been a tough decision to make but after weighing everything up I'm looking to do something different.
(Sully in action for Rovers, credit to Sportsfile)
7. Also, if you did move on, wouldn't you regret it after having such a good season on both A European front and a Domestic front? 
It's been an amazing year on both fronts yeah and in a way it's great to go out on a high but theres every chance I could regret it. But I'm confident enough in what I'm doing so hopefully it all goes well. I hope the club keeps growing and winning things because I'll always follow the club closely.
 
8.Hearing a lot of rumors saying your set to move to Austrailia along with Jim, can you confirm or deny such allegations? 
That's definitely an option. Going away has always been something I wanted to experience at some point and although it seems like bad timing you've to trust your instincts sometimes. Yeah Jim just took over at Melbourne Victory hope he does fantastic there. He was a huge influence on us this year and how well we did and I think it showed. Hes a fantastic coach, probably the best I've had in my years.
(Again, Sully in action, credit to SportsFile)
9. What best describes the European adventure for Rovers over the past two years?
 I don't know to be honest, a lot of it has been the stuff you only dream of so it's hard to describe or put a word on it you know. But, I suppose if I had to it's been deserved. The club, the people at the club and the fans have been through all the lows you can imagine with regards your club, it's so deserved for all them that we did everything as a squad and management team to not only do ourselves justice and ourselves proud but also for all the people associated with rovers that we were able to put smiles on their faces again and put them on the footballing map after a while of being off it.
 
10. Would you ever play for B*hs?
Simple answer, no!!

We would like to thank Pat Sullivan for conducting this interview, 
Thanks for Reading,
Interviewed by Alex Murray of Rovers Ramblings

Search site

The Premier Division will be displayed here.

 

 

Kick off for the brand new 2015 season is March 6th, 2015.

 

 

 

Rovers Ramblings is a unofficial website based on Shamrock Rovers Football Club. All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode