Sean Gannon stops by!

03/05/2012 21:10

Shamrock Rovers defender Sean Gannon speaks to RoversRamblings! 

 

Rovers Ramblings: Thanks for agreeing to conduct an interview. Are you excited for the chance to break into the Shamrock Rovers side? 
 
Sean Gannon: No problem. It's been very exciting for me I've enjoyed every minute I've played in the team so far and its great for me personally to get any game time when we have such a strong squad.
 
Rovers Ramblings:  How's life under new manager Stephen Kenny? 
 
Sean Gannon: I think things are great I'm enjoying it and I think there is a great atmosphere at training and all around the club.
 
Rovers Ramblings: Are you excited to be playing in Europe once again this season or are you more concerted on the league?
 
Sean Gannon: The European thing excites everyone at the club especially after qualifying for the Europa League last season which was an unbelievable achievement but the league is the number one priority its the main competition and the one we want the most.
 
Rovers Ramblings: What made you get into football? 
 
Sean Gannon: I have been playing football since I was 5, I started playing for my local club when I was 6 and from there on its all I have wanted to do. I played for my local hurling and gaelic club when I was younger but once Football became my number one sport I stopped playing hurling and gaa any concentrated on football.
 
 
Rovers Ramblings: Who were your inspirations when growing up watching football? 
 
Sean Gannon: There was a few people I looked up to watching football growing up, I loved watching Zidane play and I loved watching Arsenal play especially the season when they went unbeaten and they were called the invincibles.
 
Rovers Ramblings:  If you weren't a football, what would you say would you be instead? 
 
Sean Gannon:  If football didn't work out I think I would be involved in business in some way, I'd like to study business management in college at some stage it's just something that interests me.
 
Rovers Ramblings: Best player you've played with and against? 
 
Sean Gannon: I'm not sure who the best individual player I've played with is but the players I'm playing with at the moment are the best I've ever played with, the best player I've played against was Tom Cleverly in the platinum one match a couple of years ago when I first joined Rovers from schoolboy football.
 
Rovers Ramblings: What best describes Shamrock Rovers, in your opinion? 
 
Sean Gannon: I think the best way to describe Rovers is the best club in the country. They have set the standard for all League of Ireland clubs on and off the pitch and it's a great club to play for!
 
 
Rovers Ramblings: How would you describe the fans of Rovers?
 
Sean Gannon: They are class they support the club brilliantly home and away!
 
Rovers Ramblings: Best footballing memory? 
 
Sean Gannon: My best footballing memory is winning the under 20s league title against Bohs in Tallaght Stadium. It was a brand new team put together that year and it was my first year with Rovers so it was great to win a league title in my first year at the club.
 
Rovers Ramblings: Any advice for up and coming Shamrock Rovers players?
 
Sean Gannon: Shamrock Rovers is the best club to be at as a young player, the coaches help players develop and young players will always be given chances to impress and gain experience in the first team in front of big crowds.
 
Rovers Ramblings would like to thank Sean Gannon for taking the time out to conduct this interview.
Also, thanks for reading!
Rovers Ramblings. 
 
 

 

Search site

The Premier Division will be displayed here.

 

 

Kick off for the brand new 2015 season is March 6th, 2015.

 

 

 

Rovers Ramblings is a unofficial website based on Shamrock Rovers Football Club. All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode