Stephen Rice gives us his thoughts

07/01/2012 00:03

Stephen Rice complied an interview with us earlier this evening, 
Here's what we had to say...

 

1. First off, you expressed your delight at staying for another year at Shamrock Rovers, just how much does this clubs and it's fans mean to you on a personal level? 
Yeah I am chuffed to stay at Rovers because it is the biggest club in the country and every player wants to be at the best club, while on a personal level the club has been great to me since I came and in particular the fans backed me through a very difficult time in my career in season 08' and it ment a lot and they were a massive reson why I stayed. 
 
 (Stephen Rice in action for Shamrock Rovers FC)
2. How's life been with Kenny coming in? What best describes our new man?
Well we have not been back to pre season training yet , but Stephen signed me when I came back from Coventry city and he is a top manager and an excellent appointment.
 
 
3. Were you saddened by the news of Michael's departure, we learned that Sully was very close to O'Neill, he play the same role with yourself?
It's always sad when people move on wether it's players or managers or staff because we spend a lot the year In each others company. Micheal done great and I wish him the best in NI job, it's the nature of the game unfortunately though players staff and mangers always change eventually and move on, but Micheal helped me as a player and won 2 league titles here so Thank him for that!
 (James Chambers, Stephen Rice, Michael O'Neill and Craig Sives)
 
4. What are your plans for after football? Not that we want you retiring anytime soon!
Well I work for the FAI at the moment on a part time basis also I have my uefa B coaching badge and I am eager to start the a license as soon as possible because I do want to coach I enjoy it and eventually manage one day hopefully! 
 
 
5. Do you stay in touch with many former Hoops? Any chance in dragging one or two back! 
Yeah I stay in touch with a lot of the old lads robbo(Shane Robinson) chambers(James Chambers) Bradser(Stepen Bradley) pat Flynn I don't know why tho cos all their banter is shocking !! 
 (Stephen Rice (left) and then captain Shane Robinson)
 
6. What do you think of the website and the lads that run it?
Think it's great lads fans can get updates, ect. From u guys and doing it off ur own backs fair play keep it up. 
 
 
7. Any idea on how we could improve it?
I'm not good at that but any way I can help ya know where I am.
 
 (Stephen Rice with then Shamrock Rovers manager, Pat Scully.)
8. What made you make the move from local rivals Bohs to Rovers? 
At the time I had a big dispute with then manager Sean Connor which turned out to be thing best thing ever, I decided I needed to leave to further my career as a midfielder so Pat Scully approached me although there was no promise of tallaght when I signed it was clear the club was on the up. Also being from crumlin I needed no info on the clubs history or supporters. 
 
 
9. Could you write a little about the European adventure over the past two Years.
Europe has been amazing it's been massive to do what we did last year and even the year before !! It will be hugely difficult challenge to match what we did last year this year, But one all the boys will be looking forward to.
 (Stephen Rice and Stephen Bradley with the League Throphy)
We would like to thank Stephen for yet another article,
Thanks to you too for reading,
Interviewed by Alex Murray of Rovers Ramblings

 

Search site

The Premier Division will be displayed here.

 

 

Kick off for the brand new 2015 season is March 6th, 2015.

 

 

 

Rovers Ramblings is a unofficial website based on Shamrock Rovers Football Club. All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode